GpsDump on Mac

A place to discuss the latest in technology, from gear to mobile apps to web sites and more.
User avatar
mchevalier
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 11:07 pm
USHPA Rating: H4
Location: Salida CO

GpsDump on Mac

Postby mchevalier » Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:04 am

I recently bought a new Fytec 6030 and have been unable to get it to talk to GpsDump for Mac.

I've tried version .27 and .26 and different versions of the driver for the usb to serial converter which is in the Flytec. I keep getting a message that says "GPS Access Error-Product Read Timeout".

I've tried a different usb cable with same results.

With the Flytec on and connected to the mac I can see it in the system profiler so the physical connection is being made.

I've also tried to get GpsDump to talk to my Garmin Etrex 30 with no luck. If I hit Garmin USB I get the message "Unable to find a Garmin USB device".

If I just hit Garmin I get the message "Read product info: Timeout while waiting for ack. packet".

I've tried deleting the .plist and cache files associated with GpsDump, this had no effect.

Has anybody had any luck with GpsDump for Mac? It's not a big issue with the Garmin as is shows up as a removable drive and it also plays friendly with other programs like Garmin Basecamp and Google Earth.
Staring at it won't fix it. Beer won't either but sometimes the can is useful.

User avatar
mchevalier
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 11:07 pm
USHPA Rating: H4
Location: Salida CO

Re: GpsDump on Mac

Postby mchevalier » Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:53 pm

I got the 6030 to talk to GpsDump. The 6030 needed to be on the Main Setup Menu for data transfer. Duh! Now if I can get the program to work with the Garmin.
Staring at it won't fix it. Beer won't either but sometimes the can is useful.

User avatar
Mike Jobin
Posts: 243
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 7:13 pm
USHPA Rating: p4/t3
Location: denver

Re: GpsDump on Mac

Postby Mike Jobin » Thu Aug 23, 2012 4:25 pm

I had many problems with GPS Dump and my Garmin (60cs) and found that I had to delete the flight log completely after each flight download so that the data was not corrupted. It seems with multiple logs, the time stamp gets confused. Maybe that helps?

User avatar
mudundar
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 9:25 pm
USHPA Rating: P4
Location: Denver, CO

Re: GpsDump on Mac

Postby mudundar » Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:11 pm

Try setting the right com port. It usually is the problem ;)

Image


Return to “Tech Corner”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests